Winter 2021 Singing Playlist

Boots on the Ground, Skin on the Line. 

This Winter 2021 community singing playlist is designed to keep us singing up our resilience, showing up for Good, feeding our courage and inspiring service. It offers a soundtrack and compass for a moral revolution, leaning toward a world that is truly equitable and free for all. We warmly welcome you to join us in listening, learning and singing this special, brand new collection of justice-oriented songs from the community singing tradition.

Upon purchasing, you will be emailed a downloadable PDF with links to download or stream the songs online. The booklet includes all song lyrics, background information, Zoom call schedule and a tech support guide. We are not selling physical CDs this time.

Boots on the Ground Skin on the Line

The 16 songs in the 45-minute playlist come from 22 different song leaders and song writers. The set was curated by Melanie DeMore & Lisa G. Littlebird and almost none of the songs have been widely released before. Most songs were written in the last two months, and many written specifically for this release. We hope these songs inspire and activate you, becoming new friends and companions until we can be in person, singing together again.

This playlist will only be available in this form January 2oth – March 31, 2021.

The Singing Playlist Tracks:

1) The World is Turning – Maggie Wheeler
2) Our People Gonna Rise – Emma’s Revolution
3) The Spark – Micah Hendler, Danielle Williams, Malinda Reese & Miranda Bogen
4) When the Battle is Won – Arnaé Batson
5) Circle Round – MaMuse
6) Now That I Know – Alexandra Blakely (Ahlay)
7) Ready – Ben Gould & Britta Gudmunson
8) Standing on the Shoulders – Te Martin
9) We All Live – Melanie DeMore
10) It’s Time – Marilyn Power Scott
11) Too Much is At Stake – Samara Jade
12) Hope Is the Light Within You – Debbie Nargi-Brown
13) Honor the Dark – Lea Morris
14) My Strength and Your Song – Itai Gal
15) We Got You – Mark Growden
16) Courage – Pauline Pisano

Bonus! You will also receive a 30-minute bonus playlist with an additional 9 tracks featuring songs by Ana Hernandez, Arnaé Batson, Sarina Partridge, Elise Witt, Pacia Platzek, Katie Sontag, Karly Loveling, Debbie Nargi-Brown and Angela Gabriel.

Upon purchasing, the playlist will be emailed to you in the form of downloadable PDF, including all song information and lyrics with links to the Soundcloud playlists along with files in a private Google drive you can download onto your own devices. Please respect the artists by sending your friends to purchase here. The PDF and song files are not for sharing with others. Thank you!

Your purchase of this playlist is both an exchange and an invitation… please read on.

The Invitation

We invite you to frequently listen and marinate in the songs of this playlist in these next weeks and months, learning, singing along and making them your own. Some are very simple and some have more complexity – we invite you to take time to learn them all. You will also receive email invitations to attend six free and optional Zoom calls where you can meet the songleaders and deepen with the songs while meeting fellow singers in our worldwide community. If you can’t join us live you will receive the call recordings to enjoy on your own time. Feel free to join one or all.

The first three Zoom calls offer an opportunity to meet each of our playlist artists once and really learn their song with the different voice parts. The fourth Zoom will feature all of the artists from the bonus playlist, and the last two gatherings will give us a chance to celebrate and sing through the entire playlist, 8 songs at a time.

Our Zoom calls will be:

Sunday, January 31 – Noon-1:30pm Pacific/ 3-4:30pm Eastern/ 8-9:30pm London
Featuring MaMuse, Arnaé Batson, Debbie Nargi-Brown, Mark Growden, Alexandra Blakely (Ahlay) & Itai Gal

Wednesday, February 10 – Noon-1:30pm Pacific/ 3-4:30pm Eastern/ 8-9:30pm London
Featuring Melanie DeMore, Maggie Wheeler, Lea Morris, Micah Hendler & Pauline Pisano

Sunday, February 21 – Noon-1:30pm Pacific/ 3-4:30pm Eastern/ 8-9:30pm London
Featuring Emma’s Revolution, Samara Jade, Ben Gould & Britta Gudmunson, Te Martin & Marilyn Power Scott

Sunday, March 7 Noon-1:30pm Pacific/ 3-4:30pm Eastern/ 8-9:30pm London
Featuring all the artists from the Bonus Playlist

Tuesday, March 16 – 6:30-8pm Pacific/ 9:30-11pm Eastern/ 2:30-4am London
Featuring half of the playlist artists

Sunday, March 21 Noon-1:30pm Pacific/ 3-4:30pm Eastern/ 7-8:30pm London (note this is after the US daylight savings but before England’s)
Featuring the other half of our playlist artists

The Exchange

Your contribution for this playlist supports the artists who continue to connect and uplift us. In exchange for your sliding scale contribution you’ll receive the playlist plus a 30-minute bonus set of nine songs. You will also receive free invitations to join the Zoom sings with the artists.

There are four sliding-scale levels to choose from. The regular price is $40. There is also an option to receive a community supported rate of $20 or to offer community support for $60. For those who wish to express deeper support there is a patron option of $100. We appreciate your generosity! No one will be turned away from this offering. If you cannot afford the community-supported level please reach out.

Boots on the Ground Skin on the Line

Thank You for Joining Us! Purchase the Playlist Now:

Upon purchasing, you will be emailed a downloadable PDF with links to download or stream the songs online. The booklet includes all song lyrics, background information, Zoom call schedule and a tech support guide. We are not selling physical CDs this time.